Music for Baroque Lute

„Bach“/C. H. Graun (?): Zwei Sonaten für Violine, Laute und Violoncello

Sonaten Es- Dur und g-Moll, BWV 1031 und 1020, in Rekonstruktionen für Lautentrio


Extensive commentary in German only!

Click here for a sample!


A comprehensive edition of reconstructions for lute trio of two sonatas for flute and harpsichord supposed to be by one “Bach,” according to the known sources. These works have been long thought to be not by Johann Sebastian, and also not by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. Instead, it appears that the known versions are transcriptions of what must have been trios for violin, baroque lute and a bowed bass instrument. The extensive commentary clearly shows how the original work was altered by the baroque transcriber and also discusses the authorship from this new point of view. A short version has recently been published as: Stephan Olbertz, „Verborgene Trios mit obligater Laute? Zu Fragen der Fassungsgeschichte und Autorschaft der Sonaten Es-Dur und g-Moll, BWV 1031 und 1020,“ Bach-Jahrbuch 99 (2013), p. 261–277.


Score with commentary, three parts (lute part both in staff notation and tablature), staple binding, eye friendly ivory coloured paper, 73 + 33 + 11 + 11 pages.


Out of stock! New print-run to follow.

Sonaten BWV 1031 und 1020

35,00 €